Dutchess County, New York


The county was named for Mary of Modena, Duchess of York, second wife of the future King James II.

Dutchess County was one of the first twelve New York counties established in 1683.

The county seat is Poughkeepsie.

Dutchess County, New York has a population of about 295,000.

Schools located in Dutchess County include Bard College, Culinary Institute of America, Dutchess Community College, Marist College, Ridley-Lowell Business & Technical Institute and Vassar College.

Cities and towns located in Dutchess county, New York include Poughkeepsie, Beacon, Amenia, Beekman, Clinton, Dover, East Fishkill, Fishkill, Hyde Park, La Grange, Milan, North East, Pawling, Pine Plains, Pleasant Valley, Red Hook, Rhinebeck, Stanford, Union Vale, Wappinger and Washington.

For more information about Dutchess County, please click here

CountyWebsite.com, Inc. 2007